No writers’ group at school…

Published September 12, 2014 by Iphis of Scyros

None I could find, anyway.  There was something that looked like it might have been one, but it was only for MFA students in English, and it looked to be more of a lectures-by-visiting-novelists than support-your-fellow-writers type of a thing.  Looked around at my regional NaNo board, and didn’t see anything, either.  (Well, that only makes sense, considering it’s September.)

I guess I need to talk to someone in the English department — I think they share the office with us in History, but I’m not even sure of that — and see if there’s a bulletin board I can leave a message on or something.  Because I really want to get some feedback on my novel before I self-publish it, but I have no one to turn to.

At this point, I’m just as worried about the length as I am about the content.  I thought splitting it into two pieces was good enough, length-wise, but I wasn’t counting on my copious Author’s Notes and the all-important Index to Characters, Place Names and Patronymics.  (I feel like I’ve written that sentence before…)  I’ve finished splitting and re-formatting what was supposed to be part one now, and it’s still like 112k long.  That’s ridiculously long.  It’d be a lot shorter if I cut off the Author’s Notes, but…ugh.  I just don’t know what to do.  Because my goal was to write a novel about the Trojan War that was entirely accurate, but of course it’s impossible to be 100% accurate in anything, so I needed to have those notes to point out my inaccuracies and thus not add to the problem, but they make it so long that I’d have to chop it up into three pieces instead of two, and…

Admittedly, my inaccuracies are not the same ones that I’ve found so annoying in every other context.  But…well, actually, it’s the variant versions I’m really worried about.  I don’t always follow the most familiar path, y’know?  So there are things in there that people would likely look at and go “that’s wrong!” when actually it’s not, it’s just not the version they’re used to.

For example, in my novel, Aphrodite is the daughter of Zeus and Dione, rather than having risen fully grown out of the ocean.  Because I’m following the version in the Iliad, not the version in Hesiod.  But the Hesiodic version is the one everyone knows.  And if I had had reason to specify — though I turned out not to — she would not be married to Hephaistos, because in the Iliad he was married to Charis, and I prefer that over the Odyssey‘s version.

And my Thetis tried to make Achilles immortal by smearing him with ambrosia and putting him in the flames on the hearth, not by dipping him in the River Styx.  Because the fire version is the older one.  (Though even older still is not to have her make any such attempt.  There’s nothing like that in the Iliad.)  Also, it’s an easier version to work into my story.  But mostly because it’s older.

So for stuff like that, the Author’s Notes are useful to say “no, I’m not wrong!”  Though I have no idea how many people would read them even if I did leave them there when I published.  For that matter, I have no idea how many people (if any!) would read my book at all.  I don’t know how popular the Trojan War is with the average reading public.

Hmm, looking at my paragraph above about accuracy vs inaccuracy, I suddenly feel like I’ve become both sides of the objective/subjective debate we’ve been talking about in class.  That’s a weird feeling, to say the least.

Leave a Reply

MatthewMeyer.net

paintings, illustrations, and blog

Arwen's Butterflies and Things

My BJD creation blog. Here's where my sewing creations and projects are showcased. Some outfits are for sale. Please use the tags & catagories to navigate this blog. I love comments and reviews!

History From Below

Musings on Daily Life in the Ancient and Early Medieval Mediterranean By Sarah E. Bond

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Poet and speculative fiction writer for teens and adults

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

