To ePub or not to ePub, that isn’t really the question…

Published September 20, 2014 by Iphis of Scyros

Actually, the question is when to e-publish.  Do I wait until I can somehow find a beta reader?  Or do I just give it yet another going over and hope I find all the flaws?

More importantly, even after I make my decision, then what?  Last time I checked, the base text is about 165k words long, about two novels’ worth.  (Given that I’m trying to tell the story of the entire Trojan War, starting with its earliest origins, that means it covers a good 40 years, so that’s hardly too surprising.  Especially considering how many vital episodes there are to cover.)  On top of that, I have copious Author’s Notes to explain all the inaccuracies, and all the variant versions that most people are probably less familiar with.  Above and beyond that, there’s a glossary at the back listing all the people, places and patronymics, so the reader won’t get too lost.  (Especially important on the patronymics.  Once you’ve read the Iliad and Odyssey (but mostly the former) a few times, the patronymic just feels natural, and having to avoid it feels constraining, but for those not as familiar with the ancient texts, it can be a little confusing.)

So the question is, do I want to have a physical copy available?  Because if I do, then I can’t publish it all in one volume, or the thing would be way too huge.  The problem there is that if I split it into two volumes, due to story and chapter endings and such, I have to do the volume switch very late in the story of the Iliad, meaning that there’s a lot more story in volume 1 than in volume 2.  (With Author’s Notes and all, volume 1 comes out to about 115k and volume 2 to 96k, I believe.)

The other question is, do I actually want to include the Author’s Notes?  I mean, would anyone actually read them?  Or would they just be wasting space?

Urgh….

Worst of all is the feeling like there are all sorts of story elements I left out that I should have included.  Like the night raid of Diomedes and Odysseus.  And the encounter between Glaucos and Diomedes.  Or the sack of Tenedos.

The problem is that everything I can think of that I really should have included is among the early half, the stuff that would go in volume 1, but it’s volume 2 that’s lacking in comparative length!  (But I don’t know if I can come up with enough things to add back into the earlier parts of the war to find an earlier place to break off the volumes.  The current ending of volume 1 is really strong, a good place to stop, because it seems like it’s the one that would most make the reader want to return for the second part.)

Okay, so if anyone is reading this, I’m begging you to give me some advice!  Are there any rarely-told events in the Trojan War that you really like that you think an author should make sure to address?  More importantly, below is my list of the chapters in volume 2.  Can you think of anything I left out?

The Battle in the Scamander River

Death of Hector

Funeral of Patroclos

Ransom of Hector

Arrival of Penthesileia and Memnon (I know, he shouldn’t arrive yet, but…)

Death of Penthesileia

Death of Memnon

Death of Achilles

Funeral of Achilles/Hoplon Krisis/Death of Aias

Arrival of Eurypylos, son of Telephos

Fetching of Neoptolemos from Scyros/Death of Eurypylos

Retrieval of Philoctetes

Archery Duel between Philoctetes and Alexander

Death of Alexander

Theft of Palladion

Plotting of the Greeks

The Wooden Horse/Death of Laocoon

In the Wooden Horse/Opening of the Sack

Rescue of Helen/Death of Deiphobos

Death of Priam

The Sons of Theseus Rescue Aethra

Escape of Aeneas

After the Sack/Deaths of Astyanax and Polyxena

Cassandra’s Prophecies (Revealing the Nostoi)

Some of the chapters within the sack may be slightly out of order, but otherwise, that’s about right.  (Those aren’t the titles of the chapters, of course.  Just the explanation of what’s in the chapters.)  Actually, it looks sort of too short, but I can’t think of anything that’s missing.  (Don’t have it on this computer, unfortunately…)

Can anyone think of anything else that happens this late in the war?  (Apart from the rape of Cassandra, that is.  I am not writing a chapter about that.  I mention it, of course, but I’m not about to write a description of it.)

Leave a Reply

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Fantasy writer, avid reader / tea drinker, and Character Evolutionary

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

