Construction

Published October 1, 2014 by Iphis of Scyros

It seems like every street around here has some kind of construction going on, especially utilities work.

I know they’re just trying to make sure everything is finished up before winter gets here, but it’s starting to get annoying.

The worst part, of course, is the new water pipes they’re putting in on my street.  (At least, I think that’s what they’re doing.  I know it’s the water company, but…)

Yesterday, they had to shut off my water from about 8 am to about 10 am.  I say “about” because I made sure to leave the house as soon as I got up (about 7:30, despite having been unable to get to sleep the previous night) and to stay at my parents’ house until almost noon.  To be extra sure the water would be back on. (Because I know me.  As soon as I’m in a situation where I can’t go to the bathroom, that’s when I need to, no matter how little I’ve had to drink.)  The water was back when I returned, but for some reason the cold water going to my bathtub has gone from “meager” to “virtually none”.  And the water coming from my hot water heater is stuck permanently at “scalding”.  So in the hopes of being able to take a bath sometime tonight, I ran about half–or maybe only a quarter–of what I absolutely need in that “scalding” water, and now I’m letting the cold water trickle into it in the hopes that if I wait half an hour or so, between cold water and time, the water in the tub will be a decent temperature.  (I did try turning down the setting on the hot water heater, but I may have done so too late in the day for it to have any effect on the water currently in the pipes.)

On top of the water shut-off yesterday, then there was this morning.  I had again had trouble getting to sleep, not being able to drop off until about 3:30 am or so.  So promptly at 7:15 am, the construction crew started jackhammering the street for twenty minutes.  My windows were rattling, even.  (Though that may have more to do with them being old windows than anything else.)  So for two nights in a row, I’ve gotten maximum four hours of sleep.

Consequently, I’ve been a yo-yo today, dribbling up and down between nearly unconscious with exhaustion and giggling like a madwoman for no readily apparent reason.  Seriously.  It’s kind of scary.

And I still haven’t finished my work for tomorrow.  Though I should be able to finish after my bath.

Assuming the bath water ever finishes running.

I’d just go to the Y and take a shower, but there’s a rumbling in the distance, and the radar shows a nasty storm front headed straight here, and I don’t want to be caught out in it.  (It’s weird, though; when I checked this morning, the chance of rain today was listed as 0%.  Now it’s at 80%.  Yet the temperature isn’t supposed to drop until Friday.)

Leave a Reply

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Fantasy writer, avid reader / tea drinker, and Character Evolutionary

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

