Getting worried now.

Published October 22, 2014 by Iphis of Scyros

It seems like every paper I write for this class is worse than the one before it.  That wouldn’t necessarily bother me if I had any idea what we’re doing for the final paper.  I mean, I know it’s supposed to have something to do with what we want to do our eventual Master’s Thesis on, but…honestly, I’m not sure he was prepared for students who already know precisely what they want to study.

Thing is, at this point, I know exactly what I want to write my thesis on.  I even know half of the title.  It’s going to be tracing the changes in the perception of the Trojan War myth as society has changed over the millennia.  It’ll be called “The Love Life of Achilles” with a subtitle that will clarify the subject matter.  (The subtitle is the half I don’t know yet.)  Obviously, it’ll especially focus on the changes during the early portion of history–say up until the fall of Rome–but it’ll also describe how the perception has changed since then, how changing attitudes towards homosexuality either repressed the idea of a romantic/sexual relationship between Achilles and Patroclos or turned it into something vile or to be mocked.  And whenever his relationship with Patroclos was robbed of its pederastic side, then one of Achilles’ female lovers rose to prominence, usually Briseis, but sometimes Deidameia.

That may not sound like a particularly deep thesis–and it probably isn’t–but books have been written on similar subjects (I’m currently reading one about Helen, and I’ve gotten another one out of the library about Orpheus) so I shouldn’t have any trouble making it long enough for a thesis.  (Not that I actually know how long a Master’s Thesis is, mind you, but I could easily make that topic last several hundred pages.  I could probably get a good thirty or forty just out of classical antiquity, to say nothing of the Medieval and Renaissance changes.)

More importantly, it’s a snappy title, so it’ll catch the attention of admissions people for PhD programs, and/or prospective employers if I try to get work at a community college or something.  And it covers a wide range of subjects.  It’s literary, it’s classical antiquity, and because of the LGBT elements, it has a topicality as well.  Plus it’s really interesting, so spending years working on it won’t be a problem.

However, all the planning in the world doesn’t help if I can’t make it through this class to reach the thesis part of the program.

And I’m starting to worry that if my final paper isn’t awesome enough, I’ll flunk this class.  The final paper is a third of the grade, with the other two thirds being class participation (I’m probably at least mostly okay on that score, as I’ve never missed a class and I always manage to add something to the discussion, even if that something isn’t terribly intelligent) and the weekly papers.  So even if I get full marks on the class participation, if I get lousy marks on the weekly papers, I’ll need to get full points for the final paper even to pass, let alone get a good grade.

It’s really worrisome.

Leave a Reply

MatthewMeyer.net

paintings, illustrations, and blog

Arwen's Butterflies and Things

My BJD creation blog. Here's where my sewing creations and projects are showcased. Some outfits are for sale. Please use the tags & catagories to navigate this blog. I love comments and reviews!

History From Below

Musings on Daily Life in the Ancient and Early Medieval Mediterranean By Sarah E. Bond

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Poet and speculative fiction writer for teens and adults

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

