Orion

Published November 17, 2014 by Iphis of Scyros

No monstrous scorpion came for you.

No jealous shafts from Apollo’s bow.

Nor arrows of anger from Artemis.

She sits here still, miaowing in confusion because you’re not here.

Was it my fault?

If I had given you more tartar-controlling treats, would your teeth have been all right?

Without that dental surgery, would you still be here?

If you or I had wandered into a different store that day, would you have been happier?

Would someone else have adopted you off the street?

Would you have spent the intervening years climbing someone else’s chest to mark her face with yours?

Was it all my fault?

More than a week in the veterinary hospital.

Was it too long?  Not long enough?

That look in your eyes…

Did it mean “Don’t let me die!”

Or did it mean “Why won’t you let me die?”

Or was it meaningless?

I still don’t know if there was anything left inside.

Did I do the right thing?

Why don’t I know?

Why couldn’t you tell me?

Why did I sign on for this pain?

Sappho was right:  “Neither the honey nor the bee for me.”

The honey of affection isn’t worth the sting of loss.

I don’t want to feel like this again.

I don’t want the guilt of knowing that there must have been a point where I could have made it better.

I’m going to cry every time I see a tuft of black fur that drifted underneath the furniture.

But I don’t have time to clean it now.

I have to dive back in.  I have to keep going.

I have a book to read and a paper to write.

Even as a cat-owner himself, my professor won’t let me off of classwork for this.

I have to read about horrible deaths in horrible wars, feeling shallow and selfish because my tears are for my cat and not for those soldiers who died before I was born.

But you won’t hop up and get in between my face and my book to make it better.

Artemis doesn’t hop up; she can’t or she won’t.

How far would I have to wind back the clock to fix this?

How selfish is it to ask that question?

I know I have to keep going.  But it hurts.

I don’t want to go back to my reading.

I know I should.  I should clean the blizzard of dried tears from my glasses and get back to work.

But I don’t know if I can yet.

I should.  I know I should set this aside and make lunch.

But I don’t know if I can.

If losing a pet feels like this…how does it feel to lose a lover?  Or a child?

I can’t imagine the agony.

My characters have been shallow in their grief.

My books all need to be re-written.

The contrast is the worst part.

He was also so active, so lively.

The determined hunter.

The explorer, climbing me because I was there.

The connoisseur, turning his nose up at food he didn’t like.

The determined guard, protecting his home from the cat out on the deck.  (Even though it couldn’t have gotten in.)

But in the hospital he was so lifeless.

Unable to move, unable to see.

I don’t think he could even smell me through the antiseptic smell of the hospital itself.

The staff who brought him out to visit seemed to think he knew it was me.

I don’t think he did.

Maybe he was already dead.

Maybe everything he was failed to be resuscitated on the operating table.

Maybe it will be easier for me to live with myself if I think of it that way?

I know he was just a pet.

I know they have shorter life spans than people.

But I’m still going to miss him.

Requiescat in pacem.

The most beautiful black cat I’ve ever seen.

Orion.

Spring? 1998? – November 17, 2014

Leave a Reply

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Fantasy writer, avid reader / tea drinker, and Character Evolutionary

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

