The worst part

Published December 15, 2014 by Iphis of Scyros

As much work as I’ve put into this paper, as many books and articles as I’ve read in the researching, as much as I feel like I’m bordering on some pretty cool (and hopefully novel) insights…

…I can’t help but feel that I’m going to get a terrible grade on it.

It doesn’t help that this professor has never returned any of our papers–nor given them individual grades–so I have absolutely zero clue how my writing style fits his grading style.

I’ve never been this in the dark on my potential grade in a class before.  We’re graded on three things:  class participation, weekly papers, and the final paper.  So I usually did a pretty good job participating in class and never missed a class, so I should get full marks there.  But I have no idea where I stand on the weekly papers, or what he’ll think of the final one.

So I could be looking at an A or…I don’t know, what’s 33% come to?  C-?  D?  It’s so totally up in the air that it’s terrifying.  Because if I get a crappy grade in this class, I may as well kiss my graduate career goodbye.

But I don’t know what I’ll do if that happens.

It also doesn’t help that we were told 10-15 pages for the paper, or one time he told me 15-20.  My current draft (draft 2) is 27, single spaced.  Admittedly, every page has a large number of footnotes–a few are half footnotes, in fact–so all that text won’t be affected when I double space it, so it’s not like the number of pages will double, but even so!  And worse still, I feel like there’s already a ton of material that I left out that I really shouldn’t have.  So I can’t really cut it back.  Though admittedly, I’ve kind of written two and a half papers rather than one, so maybe that’s okay.  (He did say there wasn’t really a maximum on number of pages, but I don’t know if he was expecting me to turn up with 40 or so pages.  Plus twenty pages of illustrations.  And the bibliography.)

The only plus side is that if everything goes well, then this is like half of the first draft of my Master’s Thesis.  Well, in outline.  There’s a lot more research I’d need to do even on the parts I’ve already written before it would be at thesis level.

I guess if I do supremely crappy in this class, I’ll fumble along in the graduate program a while longer so I can still use the school’s library to do research and write up what would have been my thesis as a book instead.  Which I’d have to self-publish, of course, but….sigh.

Life is too depressing for words.

Leave a Reply

MatthewMeyer.net

paintings, illustrations, and blog

Arwen's Butterflies and Things

My BJD creation blog. Here's where my sewing creations and projects are showcased. Some outfits are for sale. Please use the tags & catagories to navigate this blog. I love comments and reviews!

History From Below

Musings on Daily Life in the Ancient and Early Medieval Mediterranean By Sarah E. Bond

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Poet and speculative fiction writer for teens and adults

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

