Inconstant sticking power

Published December 29, 2014 by Iphis of Scyros

I don’t know about other people, but I don’t like connecting to the Internet knowing that the device I’m using (computer, iPad, et cetera) has a camera pointed at me.  Yes, it’s very unlikely that anyone would be able to hack into the device in question and access the camera’s data (and even less likely that they’d want to) but that doesn’t make it any less unnerving to know that the camera’s there.

On this laptop, that was easily (and seemingly permanently) solved by applying a sticker over the camera lens.  It’s been there for years at this point, and hasn’t tried to budge.  My iPad is another matter entirely.

I don’t think I can count (rather, I don’t think I can remember) how many stickers, post-it notes, little sticky “gems” and pieces of masking tape have been applied to the front camera and then fallen off again.

But the worst part about that?  One of the little sticky “gems” that had come off my iPad somehow ended up on the interior lapel of the jean jacket I was wearing a few days before Christmas (back when it was ludicrously warm for the time of year, unlike now) and since I was on my way to my parents’ place and didn’t want to have to explain its presence to my mother (who only notices weird details I don’t want to talk about) I pulled it off, and rather than just dump it into my purse willy-nilly, I stuck it to the top of my 3DS, which happened to be in the back pocket of my purse.

It’s still there.

Shows no signs of wanting to budge, in fact.

If I’d had any idea it was going to set up permanent residence, I’d have applied it more carefully.  Or at least in the direct center, instead of about a pinky finger’s width off.  Looks awful there, but I’m afraid of marring the surface of the system’s casing if I just rip it back off again.

Leave a Reply

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Fantasy writer, avid reader / tea drinker, and Character Evolutionary

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

