Uneventful but not boring (+ phone spam rant)

Published March 23, 2015 by Iphis of Scyros

If you asked me what I accomplished today, all I’d be able to say is “I did laundry, and cleared some of the crap out of the back room so I can sit in there.”  Sounds pretty dull, right?  But it wasn’t, really, ’cause a package I’ve been feverishly awaiting (since the middle of last week) arrived, plus I spent a long time just plain goofing off and playing video games.  (In my defense, it is the first day of Spring Break.)

One really annoying thing happened today, though.  I got one of those phone calls where the person on the other end says “Hello, I am calling from the Microsoft Windows.”  I never know how to reply to that.  I mean, should I just say “No, you’re not,” and hang up?  Admittedly, I’ve done that on at least one occasion.  Should I point out that they are obviously not in the employ of a piece of software, and that even if they were, their sentence is grammatically wrong (the “the” shouldn’t be there) and therefore their script is obviously suspect and a major corporation (or sentient evil operating system, if you wanna get all Tron about it) wouldn’t give them that script?

But it’s not like telling them you know they’re a scam is going to get them to stop calling back; it’s an auto-dialer, so there’s no way of saving yourself the hassle.  (Apart from not answering the phone.  But I don’t have caller ID, so that’s not really an option.  Yeah, I know, who doesn’t have caller ID in this day and age?  In a word:  me.  It costs extra, and I have to pinch pennies somewhere.)

So the one today, after he says that infuriating introductory line, I’m so annoyed and unsure how best to reply that he starts saying “Hello?” again, thinking the line’s gone dead.  I sighed, and said something about how I’ve gotten those phone calls before.  He misunderstood my remark, and said if I had any questions, I could ask him.  Naturally, I didn’t think of any of the things I should have said, and he was soon trying to return to his script of claiming that my computer (which was off at the time) was sending in bad data and so forth and so on, and I soon corrected him that what he claimed was impossible, and hung up.

But what I should have said, when he prompted me to ask him questions, is that I should have come up with the ideal question to ask.  Which would have been something like this:  “You said you were calling from Microsoft Windows–which is a piece of software, by the way, not a company–but unless this is your first day on the job, you must have noticed that your paycheck does not come from Microsoft nor any subsidiary company.  Therefore, unless you’re dim-witted, you have to realize that what you’re saying to people when they answer their phones is an outright lie, with all that implies.  Realizing, then, as you surely do, that what you’re doing is a scam, why do you still do it?”

That’s what I should have said.  As always, I thought of that long after the fact.  (There are seriously conversations I had more than twenty years ago where it still annoys me because I should have said one thing and I said another.  Like the time in tenth grade when someone called me claiming to be someone else, and instead of calling him on it, I just made up some sort of weird excuse and hung up, so he probably thought he had successfully pranked me.  Well over twenty years ago, and it still bugs me.)

What makes me more angry, though, getting back to the scam calls, is the one I got last week.  It was on the day that my car was in the shop, and was due to be returned at some point, right?  So I get one of those calls, and as soon as he does his requisite line I say “Look, I’m expecting a very important phone call, so unless you’re the car dealership, I really don’t have time to talk to you.”  And he says “Then hang up, bitch.”  He was the one trying to scam innocent, under-educated people!  Where does he get off calling me names!?  His criminal activity was intruding in my life, and instead of just telling him to go to hell and hanging up, I politely explained that I did not have time for his phone call, but he responded by swearing at me?  I cannot begin to express just how much that pisses me off.

Those calls are getting more and more frequent, though.  One time I actually got two of them in the same day.  I wish Microsoft would use some of its unfathomable wealth to put a stop to it, since the scammers are using the company’s name in vain.

Heck, I’d even buy a Microsoft product just to thank them for getting rid of those guys!  (Like an XBone.  There are probably going to be next-gen exclusive games that are worth playing eventually…)

Leave a Reply

MatthewMeyer.net

paintings, illustrations, and blog

Arwen's Butterflies and Things

My BJD creation blog. Here's where my sewing creations and projects are showcased. Some outfits are for sale. Please use the tags & catagories to navigate this blog. I love comments and reviews!

History From Below

Musings on Daily Life in the Ancient and Early Medieval Mediterranean By Sarah E. Bond

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Poet and speculative fiction writer for teens and adults

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

