I wonder if I still exist…?

Published April 12, 2015 by Iphis of Scyros

I know, that’s a dumb question.

It’s just that I feel like I don’t exist anymore.  I’m relegated to the back room of my own house–admittedly, that’s partially my own doing–and I can no longer hear it when the mail carrier comes to deliver my mail, so one of the few times when I felt like “yes, I exist in the same world as other people” has gone away.

On top of that, I missed class on Thursday, due to my dentist’s appointment, combined with a certain…how to say it…lack of desire to attend that class after having to grind out a fifteen page paper in three days.  I had e-mailed my professor already to let him know that I might be late or absent, and then I e-mailed him again on the day of the class, to let him know that I wasn’t going to make it.

I assumed that he would e-mail me in response, letting me know what the assignment for the next week would entail.  (The syllabus is vague at best, and he never activates things on the class’s website until very late on Fridays.)

He did not.

So I had to wait for him to activate the information about the assignment online.  Which was so late that I didn’t get to see it until I got up Saturday morning.

And it was ludicrously empty of information.  In fact, all it had was the e-mail addresses of the people who were in each assigned group for the group project.

Now, according to the syllabus, the “project proposal” is due by next class, along with a “bibliography,” which might mean anything from this professor, including a five page paper.  (Seriously, he assigned a paper once, calling it a “bibliography.”)

So obviously I need more information if I’m going to be able to complete the assignment!  Like, you know, knowing what the heck the assignment actually is!

Therefore, I e-mailed the other members of my group right away.

I have yet to hear back from even one of them.

Despite that I prefaced the e-mail with the statement that I missed class, and therefore needed to know what the homework was.  I then went into some detail about a suggestion regarding what we could do for our project (the basic information–that it’s another set of interviews–has been discussed in class several times) and pointed out that as I have massive social phobia issues, I can’t just leave it to the last minute and randomly pick out any old interviewee.

So, yes, the e-mail had a lot of information that might have been complicated to process.  We’re all graduate students, so most of them probably have full-time jobs, family issues, et cetera, which I don’t have, because I have no life whatsoever.  But seriously?  Not one of them has even looked at their e-mail and seen that I have no idea what the homework even is?

For the last group project in this class, I did at least half the work.  (And it was, I might add, the same group.)

Given that, you’d think they would want me to be in the loop as soon as possible.  But apparently not.

Either that, or I no longer actually exist.  Maybe I’ve ceased to exist, and I’m merely an echo that has yet to fade out.

That might explain why my brother didn’t get the “the game you pre-ordered has come in” phone call from the store earlier this week.  Because I don’t exist anymore, so he actually did get the call, but because I don’t exist, he couldn’t tell me about it.  Though that begs the question of who drove me to the dentist on Thursday, if I don’t exist.  Or, rather, what happened then.  I guess…ugh, I don’t know.  I’m making my head hurt.  Or maybe I need more caffeine.

If I knew that I was no longer real, then I could at least relax a bit.  Stop worrying about class and money and stuff, and just let the effortlessness of non-existence wash over me.

Though that sounds rather boring, actually.  I mean, I don’t like this class much, but the ones I’m going to take next semester sound like fun.  (One of them’s on the fall of the Roman Republic!  How could that not be fun?)

And while I certainly don’t like worrying about money, I’d like to find a way to start making some of it someday.  Like by somehow publishing a book or something.  (Yeah, like that’s ever going to happen.)

Maybe part of the problem is because I haven’t left my house since getting home on Friday.  I think I need to get out of the house and go somewhere.  At least the grocery store.  If for no other reason than that I’m almost out of food.

Leave a Reply

MatthewMeyer.net

paintings, illustrations, and blog

Arwen's Butterflies and Things

My BJD creation blog. Here's where my sewing creations and projects are showcased. Some outfits are for sale. Please use the tags & catagories to navigate this blog. I love comments and reviews!

History From Below

Musings on Daily Life in the Ancient and Early Medieval Mediterranean By Sarah E. Bond

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Poet and speculative fiction writer for teens and adults

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

