Achilles and Penthesileia

Published June 9, 2015 by Iphis of Scyros

Though I have steadfastly been ignoring my pledge to myself to get Ilios re-written this summer, I have been thinking about some of the problem spots, despite that I haven’t actually been working on any of it.  And because I’ve been reading about Amazons lately, that means I’ve been thinking about the brief meeting between Achilles and Penthesileia.

As I said elsewhere, if I was writing something long and involved, I’d have them get to know each other off the field of battle, so he’d have a reason to regret killing her.  (A reason apart from being the shallowest man in ancient Greece, that is.)  But Ilios is not that kind of novel.  Besides, I ended up having Penthesileia and Memnon fall in love, so there’s no room for her to have a burgeoning romance with Achilles.  So the only meeting between her and Achilles is on the battlefield, and ends with her dying at his hands.  Well, that’s where her part of it ends, anyway.

So there are different traditions about exactly what happened, though most of them exist only as fragments, late versions, or artistic representations.  The version in Quintus Smyrnaeus has Achilles mock her for daring to fight when she’s a woman, and then turn around and fall in love with her (in death) on seeing how beautiful she was.  Utterly shallow and reprehensible, and since that turned out to be the chapter Achilles was narrating, I couldn’t go with that version!  I wouldn’t have anyway, for that matter; I’d have wanted to punch him right through the computer screen as I was writing.

I figured that if they’re wearing accurate Late Bronze Age gear, then they can both see each others’ full faces, so he knows all along that she’s attractive.  But in writing the initial version I decided to have him think she was a pretty boy instead of a beautiful woman, so he was already developing a slightly different type of sexual desire towards her even before he struck her down, and then when he learned–as she was dying–that she was a woman, the enormity of his mistake and concurrent misfortune overwhelmed him.  (Though obviously his misfortune is nothing compared to hers, but he’s not a very reliable narrator.)

While I still like my version better than Quintus’, I’ve been thinking lately that it robs the encounter of its proper magnitude as one of the defining Greek/Amazon encounters.  But I’m not quite sure how I should restructure it to give it back its proper attributes without reducing it to hateful sexism.

I guess my options are:

  1. He could initially mock her, until he sees her fight, and then acknowledge her as a worthy foe, and become charmed by her skill and beauty as they’re fighting, either retaining my original “he went for a death blow by instinct” version or moving to a “she was so good that there was no disarming her and she could only be defeated by a mortal wound” style ending.
  2. On seeing his opponent is a non-Trojan woman, he could offer to let her go, since his feud is with the city that robbed him of Patroclos, not with her people, only to have her initiate combat, because she promised King Priam that she would avenge Hector, and from there it would continue in the “charmed during the fight” vein.  (Actually, come to think of it, that exchange is already there, only he thinks she’s a non-Trojan boy…)
  3. Since I, unlike Quintus, had the Amazons (and, for that matter, the Ethiopians as well) participating in more than one battle before dying, I could have him go into the fight knowing he’s going to go up against female fighters, and trying to tell himself not to go easy on them just because they’re girls; their queen already killed Machaon, after all.  But despite being raised on all the tales of the beautiful Amazon queens fought/wooed/kidnapped by Heracles and Theseus, he’s not really expecting them to be attractive, so he’s taken aback by her beauty.

I feel like there are probably even more options than that, but…no, I know there are, but most of them stray too drastically from the original source material.  (Though there are some wildly different versions, of course, including ones where they’d met before Troy, and ones where she didn’t die, or at least didn’t die until after having his child.)

Anyway, any thoughts about which one sounds best?  (Though I think I might be leaning towards number three, myself…)

Leave a Reply

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Fantasy writer, avid reader / tea drinker, and Character Evolutionary

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

