Words Crush Wednesday – The Homeric Version

Published June 17, 2015 by Iphis of Scyros

So this week’s Words Crush Wednesday quote is a bit more homoerotic than last week’s, but it’s still mostly just “implying a romantic/sexual side to the relationship.”  From Book XXIII of the Iliad, back to the W.H.D. Rouse translation again.

In sleep came to him the soul of unhappy Patroclos, his very image in stature and wearing clothes like his, with his voice and those lovely eyes.  The vision stood by his head and spoke:

“You sleep, Achilles, and you have forgotten me!  When I lived you were not careless of me, but now that I am dead!  Bury me without delay, that I may pass the gates of Hades.  Those phantoms hold me off, the souls of those whose work is done; they will not suffer me to join them beyond the river, but I wander aimlessly about the broad gates of the house of Hades.  And give me that hand, I pray; for never again shall I come back from Hades when once you have given me my portion of fire.  Never again in life shall we go apart from our companions and take counsel together; but I am swallowed up already by that cruel fate with cot me on the day I was born; and you also have your portion, my magnificent Achilles, to perish before the walls of this great city.  One thing more I say, and I will put it upon you as a charge if you will comply; do not lay my bones apart from yours, Achilles, but with the, as I was brought up with you in your home, when Menoitios brought me quite a little one from Opoeis to your house, for manslaughter, the day when I killed Amphidamas’ son–I did not mean it, we had a silly quarrel over the knuckle-bones.  Then Peleus received me, and brought me up kindly in his house, and named me as your attendant.  Then let one urn cover my bones with yours, that golden two-handled urn which your gracious mother gave you.”

Achilles said in answer:

“Why have you come here, beloved one, with all these charges of this and that?  Of course I will do as you tell me every bit.  But come nearer; for one short moment let us lay our arms about each other and console ourselves with lamentation!”

He stretched out his arms as he spoke, but he could not touch, for the soul was gone like smoke into the earth, twittering.

Okay, that turned out to be a very long quote.  Next week’s will be shorter.

But this passage was one of the ones that made me sit up and start paying really close attention to the differences between how certain phrases get translated.  That “beloved one” in particular:  I’ve seen it as “O my brother” and “dear friend” and a considerable variety of things like that.

In typing in the quote, though, I have to note the awkwardness of placing Patroclos’ childhood memory at this juncture.  The phrasing is somewhat fractured in pretty much every translation, so it must be thus in the Greek as well (considering it’s coming from a dead man, that’s hardly surprising), so it presumably was a tale that the audience hearing the Iliad originally would have already known.  That begs the question of why the poet stuck it here, of all places, but…yeah, I’ll leave that discussion for a later post.

One last thought, though:  I find the idea that they’re so in love they have to have their bones buried in the same urn somehow very romantic.  (If extremely macabre.)

wcw

2 comments on “Words Crush Wednesday – The Homeric Version

  • Leave a Reply

        Yureya

    Breath of moments

    Rose B. Fischer

    Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

    My Tiny Joy

    Where little things matter!

    Klein's Other Toys

    Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

    BINARYTHIS

    EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

    Part-Time Monster

    I eat books for breakfast.

    Creating Herstory

    Celebrating the women who create history

    Kicky Resin

    BJDs et al

    Lala Land

    (>°~°)><(°~°<)

    A'Cloth the World

    Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

    starshiphedgehog

    Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

    Rose B. Fischer

    Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

    The Social Historian

    Adventures in the world of history

    medievalbooks

    Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

    Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

    Fantasy writer, avid reader / tea drinker, and Character Evolutionary

    Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

    A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

    Project Doll House

    never too old to play with dolls

    knotted things

    All about the things that I'm all about.

    Eclectic Alli

    A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

    Omocha Crush

    Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

    C.G.Coppola

    Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

    WordDreams...

    Jacqui Murray's

    Onomastics Outside the Box

    Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

    Hannah Reads Books

    "To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

    Memoirs of a Time Here-After

    the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

    Taking a Walk Through History

    Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

    SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

    ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

    Pullips and Junk

    We're all mad about Pullips here!

    mycupofteaminiatures

    Handmade miniatures

    Dutch Fashion Doll World

    A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

    Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

    Reviews and News From the Doll World

    It's a Britta Bottle!

    Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

    DataTater

    It's all small stuff.

    The Photographicalist

    Preserving the photographical perspective

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    The WordPress.com Blog

    The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

