IWSG – Stagnation

Published August 5, 2015 by Iphis of Scyros

It’s hard to remember when I last did any serious writing, apart from for this blog.

Don’t get me wrong, of course.  I’m doing plenty of writing for the blog.  I mean, not just random complaining/journalizing/mythologizing/book-reviewing, but actual writing.  I’ve been re-telling Greek myths every Thursday for, ooh, most of this year, and I started up Missing Letter Mondays a while back, where on Mondays I do a post without a letter in it–first week without “A”, then without “B”, et cetera, and sometimes those have been poems, and lately it occurred to me that I could do them as light, folktale-like stories, and I’m actually quite proud of the one I posted this week for the No-“J” post.  (Especially since it’s almost 12k words long, and took me about three weeks to write.)

It’s just that I’ve gotten to a point where I kind of feel like there’s not much point going on with novel writing when there’s so much re-writing to do.  But I can’t really re-write.

No, that’s not it.  It’s not that I can’t re-write.  Of course I can re-write.  It’s just fruitless for me to re-write, because I can’t accomplish the things that most need to be accomplished in a re-write.

Because no matter how many times I re-write something, it’s still going to be written by me.  It’s still going to be without descriptions, because I can’t write descriptions, because my brain does not process visual information.  This isn’t a vocabulary issue, or a laziness issue; it’s an actual brain function issue, and no matter what my mother says, reading more books with lengthy descriptions is not going to help it.  I can’t write descriptions because I can’t visualize what things look like.  My characters and locations have no images in my head, so how can I possibly describe them?

So, realistically, if I ever truly want to publish, then I need to find a co-author.

I’m pretty sure I’ve said this before, come to think of it.

But there’s just no way around it.  I need someone else who can handle the prose, because I just can’t do it.  I don’t have that skill.  I think I’m pretty good with the stories.  Not great, maybe, but I think with someone else really involved to bounce ideas off of, I might have the potential to grow in that direction.  (Wow, that sounded arrogant.)

If it was just a matter of prose style needing a little help, that would be something I could learn.  But one can’t “learn” an entirely new way to have one’s brain process information.  Brains don’t work that way.  (Especially not at my age.  You know what they say about old dogs and new tricks, after all.)

The question is, how in the world do I hook up with another author to help me re-write my books and make them publishable?  I haven’t the foggiest idea how to go about doing that?

IWSG badge

6 comments on “IWSG – Stagnation

  • Oh wow, I’ve never heard of someone having this particular issue and yet I can tell from your post that you write very well. Maybe someone on the Insecure Writer’s Faceboook page would be able to help you. https://www.facebook.com/groups/IWSG13/

    Whatever you do, don’t stop writing, you obviously enjoy it and as long as you do, then by all means WRITE. Write for yourself, if for no one else, because ultimately, that’s what we writers do. We write what we would like to read, we write because it makes us feel better about ourselves, we write to give meaning to something we’re struggling with, we write because if WE don’t say it, who will?

    Bish, your co-host #128 on the Alex Scale

    Like

  • Hmm, I’m not sure exactly how you’d find a co-author. Maybe through beta readers, critique groups, writing groups? Have you checked the IWSG site? There’s lots of great info over there about all sorts of writing-related things. Good luck! 🙂

    Like

  • I have no idea how to go about finding a co-author. I honestly wouldn’t be able to work with someone else like that, but I can see your need. I hope someone else from IWSG can be more helpful and good luck finding something that works for you! (Also, I wouldn’t say you feeling you’d have a potential to grow with the help of a co-author is arrogant.. admitting to needing growth is pretty much opposite of arrogance!)

    Like

  • I’m not sure what (if any) advice I can offer on finding a co-author, but I say don’t give up! And don’t doubt that publishing is still a definite possibility. Screw the rest of the world and write because you love to write. It’s that simple.

    Like

  • Hi,
    Have you thought about joining a writing group in LinkedIn or some other social organization to ask about a co-author? I do believe you might find some help there or maybe find someone who can point you in the right direction.

    Just try it. LinkedIn has many writing groups to choose from.
    Hope this helps.
    Shalom,
    Pat Garcia

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        Yureya

    Breath of moments

    Rose B. Fischer

    Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

    My Tiny Joy

    Where little things matter!

    Klein's Other Toys

    Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

    BINARYTHIS

    EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

    Part-Time Monster

    I eat books for breakfast.

    Creating Herstory

    Celebrating the women who create history

    Kicky Resin

    BJDs et al

    Lala Land

    (>°~°)><(°~°<)

    A'Cloth the World

    Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

    starshiphedgehog

    Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

    Rose B. Fischer

    Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

    The Social Historian

    Adventures in the world of history

    medievalbooks

    Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

    Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

    Fantasy writer, avid reader / tea drinker, and Character Evolutionary

    Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

    A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

    Project Doll House

    never too old to play with dolls

    knotted things

    All about the things that I'm all about.

    Eclectic Alli

    A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

    Omocha Crush

    Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

    C.G.Coppola

    Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

    WordDreams...

    Jacqui Murray's

    Onomastics Outside the Box

    Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

    Hannah Reads Books

    "To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

    Memoirs of a Time Here-After

    the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

    Taking a Walk Through History

    Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

    SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

    ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

    Pullips and Junk

    We're all mad about Pullips here!

    mycupofteaminiatures

    Handmade miniatures

    Dutch Fashion Doll World

    A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

    Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

    Reviews and News From the Doll World

    It's a Britta Bottle!

    Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

    DataTater

    It's all small stuff.

    The Photographicalist

    Preserving the photographical perspective

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    The WordPress.com Blog

    The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

