Pyrrha: A Play, Scenes 3 and 4

Published August 8, 2015 by Iphis of Scyros

Scenes 1 and 2 can be found here.  Scene 4 introduces a sub-plot that was not in the 18th century original.  The sub-plot is based on a different myth featuring Lycomedes.  It’s really in scene 4–and in tomorrow’s scene 5, which introduces my two favorite mortals–that the play starts to pick up.  (I’m ashamed to note that these early scenes still bear a bit of the taint of the old-fashioned language of the play that inspired this…how the heck did that happen?  I gotta fix that…but I’m pretty sure the later scenes don’t have that problem…)


 

Scene: Megaron of Lycomedes (Day)

The king once again sits on his throne, looking lovelorn. Diphilos enters and bows before him.

Diphilos: Had you any luck with the young lady, my liege?

Lycomedes: Wasn’t given a word alone with her…

Diphilos: Permit me to be your go-between, my lord. I am accustomed to such duties, and the young lady will trust in my experience.

Lycomedes: Or she will be repulsed by your vile character.

Diphilos: There’s much of the coquette about the young lady, my lord. She will be pleased to know she has captured your favor.

Lycomedes: Hmm.

Diphilos: Think how carefully and warmly her mother entrusted her to your personal care, my king. How she sang the girl’s praises to your receptive ears. Has not the girl always been gentle as a dove with you, despite her vigorous personality?

Lycomedes: Do you dare to imply misconduct in that innocent child?!

Diphilos: Certainly not! But would it be misconduct for her to accept your affections when her mother has specifically instructed her to do so?

Lycomedes: You can’t know her mother gave her any such instruction.

Diphilos: If she had not, then why would she have left the girl with you?

Lycomedes: I cannot help but feel that you say only the words you think I wish to hear.

Diphilos: Test her feelings for yourself, my lord. Send her some little token to speak of your deep love for her. I am certain that she is waiting for such a signal from you.

Lycomedes: Do you really think so?

Diphilos: Have you not seen the way she averts her eyes from yours, with a coy expression, as if to enflame your desire?

Lycomedes: How could I fail to note that?

Diphilos: Have you not perceived the way she sits for hours on end, staring at the sea and sighing in a most melancholy manner? What reason should a maiden have for such behavior but the broken heart that waits for a lover’s first approach?

Lycomedes: Hmm.

Diphilos: Or do you fear the queen’s jealous ire?

Lycomedes: I fear no woman!

He removes a ring from his finger and hands it to Diphilos.

Lycomedes: Give her this token. Tell her…

Diphilos: Of your undying love, sire?

Lycomedes: I suppose. Is that what a man normally says in these sorts of situations?

Diphilos: It is, sire. Have no fear. I know just what to say to the young lady. I can assure you that she will be delighted to learn that your desires so align with her own.

Diphilos bows, and leaves the stage.

Trumpets sound, and a herald enters, bowing low before the king.

Herald: Greetings, King Lycomedes!

Lycomedes: (to himself) Even sooner than expected… (to the herald) Whom do you serve, herald?

Herald: Aias, son of Telamon, King of Salamis. My lord’s ship has arrived in your harbor, and I have been sent ahead to request an audience with you, your majesty.

Lycomedes: It is the duty of all who fear Zeus to welcome guests, and I shall not fail in that duty, you may assure your prince. Has he business with me, or is his ship merely passing on its way?

Herald: He has King Agamemnon’s business with you, sire.

Lycomedes: (to himself) As I feared. (to the herald) I would be a fool to insult the King of Mycenae or his chosen ambassador. Please, assure your prince that he and his party will be welcomed as royally in my home as they deserve.

Herald: I will be delighted to deliver your message, sire. May the gods find you a just reward for your gracious hospitalities!

The herald bows, and leaves the stage. Lycomedes frowns.

Lycomedes: A just reward, eh…? Hmm…

He rises from the throne, and leaves the stage.

Scene: Cliff overlooking the sea (Day)

{The most improbable location in the play, this is literally a place where a wall has fallen away and there is a sheer drop-off that leads directly into the sea far below. Yes, there is a plot reason for this. Uh, sort of. Okay, it’s more like a sub-plot reason. Tied into an actual myth, I might add. I added the entire sub-plot; it wasn’t in the play I based this on, and that was something that bothered me about that play, because it was something about Lycomedes that was being utterly ignored.}

Lycomedes and Polyphonos approach the cliff and look over the edge at the ship below.

Lycomedes: Well?

Polyphonos: Sire, how could I possibly tell from here?

Lycomedes: If the sons of Theseus are among their number…

Polyphonos: I doubt it greatly, your majesty. Even if they are, you have nothing to fear from them. The seers have all been quite clear on that matter. Only the grandson of a goddess, born of two mothers, can be your downfall.

Lycomedes: Ludicrous double-talk! No child can be born of two mothers! The trouble with omens is that not even seers know what they mean until they’ve already come true. And by then it will be too late!

Polyphonos: In any event, as Theseus cannot have been said to be the mother of his sons—

Lycomedes: But some of our people thought he looked like a woman because of his long hair! Couldn’t that be what the prophecy meant?!

Polyphonos: Stop panicking, my lord. Even if it was, in what way could his sons be the grandsons of a goddess? I know his grandfather claimed it had been Poseidon, not Aegeus, who laid with his daughter, but that would make them the grandsons of a god, not a goddess.

Lycomedes: What about their mother? Who was she?

Polyphonos: Phaidra, a daughter of King Minos of Crete.

Lycomedes: There! You see?! I knew it! That prophecy was about the sons of Theseus!

Polyphonos: I fail to see what you mean, your majesty.

Lycomedes: Pasiphae, the wife of Minos, is immortal, the daughter of Helios and…and…whoever! I don’t know. I don’t care!

He clenches his fists.

Lycomedes: If the sons of Theseus are aboard that boat, they must not survive the night. See to it. But keep it quiet! I have no wish to anger the Atreidai, or Telamon.

Polyphonos: As you wish, my king.

Polyphonos bows, and leaves the same way he came in. Lycomedes takes one last look at the boat, then follows him.


 

I was tempted to add the next scene as well, but…ultimately decided it worked better to leave it for tomorrow; thematically it fits better with the scene following it.

Leave a Reply

Yureya

Breath of moments

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

My Tiny Joy

Where little things matter!

Klein's Other Toys

Comics, Funko Pops and Anime figures oh my!

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Creating Herstory

Celebrating the women who create history

Kicky Resin

BJDs et al

Lala Land

(>°~°)><(°~°<)

A'Cloth the World

Where Textiles, Fashion, Culture, Communication and Art Come Together.

starshiphedgehog

Occasionally my brain spurts out ideas and this is where I put them

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Fantasy writer, avid reader / tea drinker, and Character Evolutionary

Zounds, Alack, and By My Troth

A tragical-comical-historical-pastoral webcomic by Ben Sawyer

Project Doll House

never too old to play with dolls

knotted things

All about the things that I'm all about.

Eclectic Alli

A bit of this, a bit of that, the meandering thoughts of a dreamer.

Omocha Crush

Secret Confessions of a Toy Addict

C.G.Coppola

Fantasy & Science-Fiction romance Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Onomastics Outside the Box

Names beyond the Top 100, from many nations and eras

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Time Here-After

the writings, musings, and photography of a dream smith

Taking a Walk Through History

Walking back in time to discover the origins of every historical route on earth

SENTENTIAE ANTIQUAE

ΕΥΔΟΞΑ ΑΓΝΩΣΤΑ ΚΑΤΑΓΕΛΑΣΤΑ

Pullips and Junk

We're all mad about Pullips here!

mycupofteaminiatures

Handmade miniatures

Dutch Fashion Doll World

A Dutch Barbie collector in Holland

Confessions of a Doll Collectors Daughter

Reviews and News From the Doll World

It's a Britta Bottle!

Small Stories of a Twenty-Something Adventuring Through Life

DataTater

It's all small stuff.

The Photographicalist

Preserving the photographical perspective

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

